Tory Triumph in Ayr as John Scott Holds Seat

Local Conservatives celebrated following major gains across Scotland as a result of the 2016 Scottish Parliamentary Elections. Longstanding Ayr MSP John Scott was re-elected to serve the people of Ayr, Troon and Prestwick for a fourth term after a tough battle with the SNP. John saw his vote rise from 12,997 in 2011 to 16,183 giving him a majority of 750 votes. Meanwhile in neighbouring Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, candidate Lee Lyons almost doubled the Conservative vote from 2011, finishing with a very respectable 7,666 votes in a constituency that used to be a major mining hub. His vote share increased by nearly 10%, a figure that was near replicated across many of Scotland's 75 constituencies.

The results in full are as follows:

Ayr Constituency - Conservative Hold

John Scott (Conservative): 16,183

Jennifer Dunn (SNP):15,433

Brian McGinley (Labour): 5,283

Robbie Simpson (Liberal Democrat): 716


Carrick Cumnock & Doon Valley Constituency - SNP Hold

Jeane Freeman (SNP): 14,690

Carol Mochan (Labour): 8,684

Lee Lyons (Conservative): 7,666

Dawud Islam (Liberal Democrat): 640